The Story Behind the Photo: The Tetons Reflected

The dramatic mountains within Grand Teton National Park will always hold a special place in my heart.  The jagged peaks have mesmerized me since I first saw them.  The snow-capped granite behemoths tower above pristine lakes and pine-covered valleys.  The range, which spans forty miles, is completely devoid of foothills.  As a result, the impressive mountains shoot straight up and pierce the sky as much as 7000 feet above the valley floor.

Arguably the best view of the Tetons is that from Schwabacher Landing on the eastern side of the park. I went there on a dark and cloudy day, during a short break in an oppressive thunderstorm.

I left my car in the small parking area with my camera and started down a thin dirt trail.This was one of the greatest views I had seen in all my trips to National Parks.  The desired viewpoint was only a few minutes away.  There was a tiny tributary of the Snake River that flawlessly reflected the Cathedral Group (Mt Owen, Teewinot, and the Grand).  The incredibly still water reflected the stunning mountains and the stormy sky above to form a truly memorable sight.

Tetons reflected
The Cathedral Group Reflected
5 thoughts on “The Story Behind the Photo: The Tetons Reflected

  1. The Tetons are amazing. I hope to hike them someday 🙂 I saw that you were interested in checking out my blog. My WordPress.com site has been deactivated as I am self-hosted now. Check out http://hikesnhotsauce.com if you’re interested. Thanks for your support!

    Like

      1. I’ll look up that trail 🙂 thanks! My dad lives an hour south in a small town, so I’ve seen them numerous times. Now it’s time to go among them!

        Like

Leave a Reply

