My First Impression of the Grand Canyon

My blog turned one year old about a week ago. This was my first blog post…

The Adventures of a Day Hiker

My first visit to the Grand Canyon was on a road trip with my friend Joe. We drove in from Zion National Park in the north.  In order to get to Grand Canyon National Park we had to drive all the way around the canyon to make it to our destination at the South Rim.

We arrived at the Grand Canyon at 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 11th.  We drove through the park entrance and carried on through the empty desert landscape.  Besides for the small entry kiosk, we didn’t see anything resembling civilization.  After several miles of dusty driving we came to Desert View at the southeast corner of the canyon.

We parked in a huge parking lot and began our long walk towards the rim.  I couldn’t wait to catch my first glimpse of the canyon.  As we approached the “Big Ditch” we experienced quite a…

View original post 537 more words

4 thoughts on “My First Impression of the Grand Canyon

  1. Happy Blogiversary! I’ve enjoyed following your travels and look forward to your future journeys. I so relate to your experience; many friends told us the same thing about GC, urging us to spend a day or less (!!) there. I’m with you–nothing prepares you for that first awe-inspiring (and addicting) glimpse. Beautiful photo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

