My Top 10 National Park Hikes (6 miles or less) #10

My Top 10 National Park Hikes (6 miles or less)

I enjoyed making blog posts about my top ten National Parks, so I decided to make a list of my top ten National Park Hikes. I quickly encountered a problem. There were too many hikes to choose from. So, I decided I can make two lists. I’m starting with my top 10 shorter hikes. Eventually I’ll make a list of my favorite longer National Park hikes. I decided to make 6 miles the cutoff. So the list I am starting now will be of my favorite hikes of 6 miles or less. I love National Parks and I like making lists, so this is fun for me. I hope you enjoy, too. Let me know if you agree with me, want to add other hikes, or want to try some of these out.

10. Cleetwood Cove

Location: Crater Lake National Park in Southwest Oregon.

Distance: 2.2 miles roundtrip

Elevation change: about 700 feet.

Difficulty: On my totally subjective scale from a 1-10 (10 being the hardest) I would give it a 4. The hike is short and fairly steep, but it’s not too bad.

Brief Description: This hike provides the only access to the shore of Crater Lake. The lake is beautiful from the many viewpoints along the crater’s rim, but it should also be seen from eye-level. The hike encompasses a near constant descent that is steep at times, but it is over quickly. There is a boat dock at the base of the trail. Boat tours are launched throughout the day from there.

nate-odomes-trip-093

Highlight of the hike: The destination, reaching the rocky shore of the stunning lake is definitely the highlight. There is also a large pile of boulders a short distance past the dock that is certainly worth exploring.

nate-odomes-trip-092

Tips: Go early. My friend and I hiked the Cleetwood Cove Trail shortly after sunrise. It was a great decision. We had the trail and the lakeshore all to ourselves for close to an hour. Park Service employees will make their way down the trail to prepare the dock and the boats around 8:00 a.m.

 

For more details on the hike and my personal experience CLICK HERE to read my blog post about it.

14 thoughts on “My Top 10 National Park Hikes (6 miles or less) #10

Add yours

  1. As someone who also enjoys national parks, hiking, and lists, I’m very excited for this series of posts!

    And I’m with you, I really loved the contrast between the lake from up above and the lake from Cleetwood Cove.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

