My Top 10 National Park Hikes (6 miles or less) #8

My Top 10 National Park Hikes (6 miles or less)

I enjoyed making blog posts about my top ten National Parks, so I decided to make a list of my top ten National Park Hikes. I quickly encountered a problem. There were too many hikes to choose from. So, I decided I can make two lists. I’m starting with my top 10 shorter hikes. Eventually I’ll make a list of my favorite longer National Park hikes. I decided to make 6 miles the cutoff. So the list I am starting now will be of my favorite hikes of 6 miles or less. I love National Parks and I like making lists, so this is fun for me. I hope you enjoy, too. Let me know if you agree with me, want to add other hikes, or want to try some of these out.

My list so far…

10. Cleetwood Cove – Crater Lake National Park

9. Avalanche Peak – Yellowstone National Park

 

8. Shoshone Lake

Location: Between the Old Faithful area and Grant Village in Yellowstone National Park, in northwest Wyoming.

Distance: About 6 miles roundtrip

Elevation change: Minimal

Difficulty: On my totally subjective scale from a 1-10 (10 being the hardest) I would give it a 3. The hike is a few miles long, but there is virtually no elevation gain.

Brief Description: This hike takes you through forest and beside meadows before arriving at the largest backcountry lake in the continental U. S. The lake covers an area of over 8,000 acres.

nate odomes trip 457

Highlight of the hike: Arriving at the shore of this gigantic lake is the best part of the hike. There is a small beach beside the northern end of the lake. The Teton Range can be seen to the south of the lake. An additional bonus is the fact that this is a trail that is not that popular. Yellowstone is always going to be a crowded park, but this is one trail you can hike to escape the masses.

Tips: Go early and get wet. The trail should be even less busy if you head out early. You will pass a habitat that is popular among moose, and the likelihood of spotting any would be best closer to dawn and dusk. If it’s hot out take a quick dip in the lake. I did when I was there in July. The water was cold, but it was exhilarating.

nate odomes trip 464

For more details on the hike and my personal experience CLICK HERE to read my blog post about it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

