A Recap of My Top 10 Short National Park Hikes

I wrapped up my Top Ten National Park Hikes (6 miles or less) List last week. I enjoyed making the list and continuing my weekly countdown. I would like to thank those who followed along and especially those who provided some comments or feedback along the way. I follow a lot of other bloggers who travel all over. Many of them have visited a lot of National Parks and enjoy hiking in the parks like I do. I have really enjoyed interacting with like-minded individuals on the subject.  I like making these National Park lists, so my next one will have to be my Top Ten longer National Park Hikes.  That list will include hikes that are longer than six miles.  I’ll have to start that soon.  I don’t have any other ideas for National Park lists at this time, but if anyone has any ideas I’d be happy to take suggestions.

Just like how there are amazing National Parks missing from my list of my favorite National Parks you’ll notice there are plenty of great hikes that aren’t on this list.  The main reason is that I still have a lot of National Parks to visit.  So far I have made it to twenty National Parks in the U.S. and three in Canada. I have returned to several of my favorites. Here is a list of the parks I’ve been to so far.

The National Parks I have visited so far (starting with the first I visited):

1. Yellowstone

2. Grand Teton

3. Rocky Mountain

4. Shenandoah

5. Zion

6. Grand Canyon

7. Death Valley

8. Yosemite

9. Badlands

10. Acadia

11. Great Smoky Mountains

12. Crater Lake

13. Olympic

14. Glacier

15. Cuyahoga Valley

16. Arches

17. Canyonlands

18. Capitol Reef

19. Bryce Canyon

20. Petrified Forest

 

This was a hard list to make.  I’ve hiked a lot of awesome National Park trails.  I would say my top 6 are all amazing hikes and are a bit above the bottom 4.  While I’ve hiked plenty of great trails, there are plenty in each park that I have missed out on.  I somehow haven’t hiked the Avalanche Lake Trail in Glacier, the Fairy Falls Trail in Yellowstone, the Sol Duc Falls hike in Olympic and many more.  Once my kids are a little older I want to return to the great National Parks of the west. I also hope to visit many National Parks that I haven’t yet seen. Over time I’m sure my Top Ten list will change many times.

 

Here again is the list of my Top Ten National Parks Hikes that are 6 miles or less in length (with links to their specific posts):

10. Cleetwood Cove – Crater Lake National Park

9. Avalanche Peak – Yellowstone National Park

8. Shoshone Lake – Yellowstone National Park

7. Hall of Mosses – Olympic National Park

6.  Delicate Arch – Arches National Park

5.  Mariposa Grove – Yosemite National Park

4.  Mount Washburn – Yellowstone National Park

3.  Queen’s Garden with the Navajo Loop – Bryce Canyon National Park

2.  Hidden Lake – Glacier National Park

1.  The Narrows to Orderville Canyon – Zion National Park

10 thoughts on “A Recap of My Top 10 Short National Park Hikes

Leave a Reply

