My Top 10 Long National Park Hikes #9

My Top 10 National Park Hikes (over 6 miles)

I completed the list of my Top 10 Short National Park Hikes over a month ago, so I guess it’s about time I start the list of my favorite longer hikes.  This list will focus on hikes over six miles long.

You probably noticed by now that I love the National Parks  and like making lists.  In addition to the list of my favorite shorter National Park hikes, I have previously made lists of my Top Ten National Parks, Top 20 Things to See in the National Parks, Top Ten Waterfalls, My Bucket List, and Ten Places You Should Visit Before You Die.  So yeah, I enjoy writing these blog posts.  I hope you enjoy them, too.

Let me know if you agree with me, want to add other hikes, or want to try some of these out.

My list so far…

10. Mount LeConte – Great Smoky Mountains National Park

9.  Cape Alava – Olympic National Park

Location:  The most western point of the continental U.S.  Otherwise known as the Northwest tip of Olympic National Park in Washington.

Distance: 6.6 miles roundtrip.

Elevation change: Minimal.

Difficulty: On my totally subjective scale from a 1-10 (10 being the hardest) I would give it a 3.  It was an easy one, but there’s nothing wrong with that.

Brief Description:  You’ll follow a dirt path and then raised wooden boardwalk through a very green and very thick forest before reaching a pristine wilderness beach.  sea stacks and tide pools are abundant on the coast.

Highlight of the hike:  The beach was awesome.  It is cool walking through such a vibrant forest, but the sandy beach takes the cake here.

Tips:  Beware the tide.  I walked along some rocks in the water and circled a large sea stack.  Keep an eye on the tide if you wander out there though, because you don’t want to be trapped.

Cape Alava

For more details on the hike and my personal experience CLICK HERE to read my blog post about it.

12 thoughts on “My Top 10 Long National Park Hikes #9

  1. What a beautiful hike. I am looking forward to hear about more hikes like this one. I have been doing a lot of hiking this year and writing about the hikes on my blog. Longer hikes are important for me because I am building up a couple of big day hikes in the 15-18 mile marks. Right now I am comfortable hiking 6-7 miles in steep terrain, and about 10 on flat or low elevation changes.

    I really like how you classified your hike. I hope you won’t mind if I borrow this style for my blog.

    One thing that I might suggest trying is embedding a GPS route of your hikes on your blog. Google Mymaps is a great resource for this. I’ve been thinking about doing a blog post on how to do this. It really isn’t that difficult.

    Like

    1. Thanks. You should write a post about the gps, because I’ve never used it before. Definitely feel free to borrow my style, too. I have some very hard long hikes coming up on my list and a couple more easy ones, but I think this one is probably the easiest of the ones I’ll be posting about in my Top Ten.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great timing as we’ll be visiting Olympic in a couple of months! This sounds like a great hike. I love following your lists. I have a personal favorite in the longer hike category and I’m hoping it makes your list. I won’t ruin it by letting you know which one it is yet. I’ll wait and see if it makes your list first. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

