My Top 10 Long National Park Hikes #7

My Top 10 National Park Hikes (over 6 miles)

I completed the list of my Top 10 Short National Park Hikes over a month ago, so I guess it’s about time I start the list of my favorite longer hikes.  This list will focus on hikes over six miles long.

You probably noticed by now that I love the National Parks  and like making lists.  In addition to the list of my favorite shorter National Park hikes, I have previously made lists of my Top Ten National Parks, Top 20 Things to See in the National Parks, Top Ten Waterfalls, My Bucket List, and Ten Places You Should Visit Before You Die.  So yeah, I enjoy writing these blog posts.  I hope you enjoy them, too.

Let me know if you agree with me, want to add other hikes, or want to try some of these out.

My list so far…

10. Mount LeConte – Great Smoky Mountains National Park

9.  Cape Alava – Olympic National Park

8.  Half Dome – Yosemite National Park

7.  Siyeh Pass – Glacier National Park

Location:  The eastern side of Going-to-the-Sun Road in Glacier National Park in northwest Montana.

Distance: 10.3 miles from Siyeh Bend to Sunrift Gorge.

Elevation change: 2,240 feet up and 3,440 feet down (if ending at Sunrift Gorge).

Difficulty: On my totally subjective scale from a 1-10 (10 being the hardest) I would give it an 8.

Wildlife:  I surprisingly didn’t see any animals on this hike, but I have on most of the hikes I’ve done in Glacier.  Mountain goats and grizzly bears frequent the area covered on this hike.

Brief Description:  You’ll hike through a dense forest for a couple of miles before making you’re way to Preston Park, a wondrous alpine meadow.  Then a steep climb will take you to Siyeh Pass.  If you proceed to Sunrift Gorge like I did you are in for a long descent through a colorful valley before reaching the gorge and Going-to-the-Sun Road.

Preston Park

Highlight of the hike:  Preston Park is phenomenal.  Even if you don’t want to hike all the way up to the pass I would definitely say hiking to Preston Park and back would be well worth it.  The views from Siyeh Pass are also awesome.

 

 

Tips:  Take your time walking through Preston Park.  Be careful crossing Siyeh Creek if it is flowing at a high level, like it was when I was there.

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Top 10 Long National Park Hikes #7

  1. We ran out of time when we took a vacation to Glacier NP. So we didn’t do Siyeh Pass. When we go back to Glacier, this hike is high on my list. Did you use the Park’s shuttle to complete the point-to-point hike?

    Like

Leave a Reply

