Acadia National Park

It’s been a long time since I visited Acadia. It was at least ten years ago and I didn’t write any notes about my travels that far back, so I can’t give many details about my time there. I definitely recall enjoying my time there and it is probably the next eastern National Park I would like to return to.

It was early in the fall of 2005 or 2006 when I made the long drive northeast into Maine. It took me almost 12 hours to reach Bangor, Maine. I met up with my friend Phil, who was attending Maine University at the time. The next day we drove to Acadia National Park on the Atlantic coast. It was my first time there and I was pretty excited to explore the rocky coastline. It was a beautiful park, but it was veiled by thick fog for almost the entire time we were there.

We camped in the Blackwoods Campground. We suspended some tarps over our site, because it rained a few times during our time there. We also made our way into neighboring Bar Harbor a few times. That is a very cool town on the water. We watched our Buffalo Bills get beat by the New England Patriots in a bar there.

Phil and I did some hiking while in the park, but not a ton thanks to the rain. We walked along the Ocean Trail and Jordan Pond Shore Trail. We also hiked up to the summit of some short mountain (I can’t think of its name). The hike up wasn’t too bad, but we somehow lost the trail and got lost on the way down. We could see a road far away through the trees so we bushwacked our way through the forest and followed the road back to the trailhead. It wasn’t one of my prouder moments on the trail, but it was a learning experience. It showed me how easy it can be to get lost if you’re not paying attention and being observant.

Our last morning there (we stayed three or four nights) the fog finally lifted. We drove up Cadillac Mountain, the tallest mountain on the coast. We would have liked to hike up, but we had to hurry since Phil had to get to class an hour away. The views from the summit were awesome. The Atlantic stretched out as far as I could see. There were a few islands a short distance from the coast and I saw a cruise ship docked in between the small islands. The ship was nearly as big as a couple of the islands. I thought that was pretty impressive. I wouldn’t be surprised if my next visit to Acadia comes courtesy of a cruise with my family.

2 thoughts on “Acadia National Park

  1. It’s a shame that you didn’t get to explore the park for all the time you were there. In fall of 2013 when we still lived in Virginia, David and I planned a two-week New England road trip to Acadia NP. We already reserved a hotel in Bar Habor and everything. That week that we were suppose to be in Maine, the Republican-Controlled House of Representative caused a federal government shutdown. So all the national parks, among many other federal operations, were closed. We had to cancel our hotel reservation in Bar Habor and changed the plan to a touring of NE instead. I don’t think we will ever get to visit Acadia as there are so many places to go. Our window of opportunity had passed.

    Like

    1. That’s terrible timing with the shut down. Yeah I wish we could’ve seen more and hiked more. The first rather was rough and we had a couple of other things to do then.
      I definitely plan on returning though with the family. It’ll probably be a short visit so I’ll have to carefully plan out what to do with limited time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

