My Top 10 Long National Park Hikes #3

My Top 10 National Park Hikes (over 6 miles)

I completed the list of my Top 10 Short National Park Hikes over a month ago, so I guess it’s about time I start the list of my favorite longer hikes.  This list will focus on hikes over six miles long.

You probably noticed by now that I love the National Parks  and like making lists.  In addition to the list of my favorite shorter National Park hikes, I have previously made lists of my Top Ten National Parks, Top 20 Things to See in the National Parks, Top Ten Waterfalls, My Bucket List, and Ten Places You Should Visit Before You Die.  So yeah, I enjoy writing these blog posts.  I hope you enjoy them, too.

Let me know if you agree with me, want to add other hikes, or want to try some of these out.

My list so far…

10. Mount LeConte – Great Smoky Mountains National Park

9.  Cape Alava – Olympic National Park

8.  Half Dome – Yosemite National Park

7.  Siyeh Pass – Glacier National Park

6.  Cascade Canyon – Grant Teton National Park

5.  Plateau Point – Grand Canyon National Park

4.  Highline Trail – Glacier National Park

3.  Mist Trail (to Nevada Fall) – Yosemite National Park

Location:  Yosemite Valley in Yosemite National Park, central California.

Distance:  There are options on this trail as well.  I took the typical route, ascending the Mist Trail and descending on the John Muir Trail for a total of about seven miles.

Elevation change: About 2,000 feet.

Difficulty: On my totally subjective scale from a 1-10 (10 being the hardest) I would give it a 6.

Brief Description:  Hike beside the raging Merced River then ascend the infamous rocky staircase to the top of Vernal Fall.  Continue up the steeper, rougher path to Nevada Fall before crossing the Merced River and taking the more gradually descending John Muir Trail back down.

Vernal Falls

Highlight of the hike:  Both waterfalls are incredible sights and there are many good viewpoints of them along the way.

Nevada Falls

Tips:  Be careful on the steps.  This is called the Mist Trail for a reason.  Be prepared to get wet, especially in the springtime.  Wear footwear that will not slip on wet rocks.  Ascend quickly but safely and then take the John Muir Trail down.

I recently wrote about this awesome hike in two parts.  Here is part one and part two.

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Long National Park Hikes #3

Leave a Reply

