Mount Rushmore

Mount Rushmore is a place that I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go out of my way to see it or not. I love the outdoors and have been to a lot of National Parks, but my focus has always been on the stunning landscapes and the natural beauty exhibited in so many of our nation’s western parks. Mount Rushmore is certainly a sight to see, but it is man-made (well, the sculptured heads are man-made, the mountain itself is not). I consider it more of a monument like the Washington Monument or Lincoln Memorial, than a park like Yellowstone, Zion, or Yosemite.

As a result, I skipped Mount Rushmore the first two times I was nearby. I actually passed right through Rapid City, which is about a half hour from the national memorial. I figured it would be nice to see, but I was in a hurry to get to Yellowstone so I skipped it to save time.

On my third trip through South Dakota’s Black Hills I final decided to check out Mount Rushmore. I was not disappointed. I would never compare it to any of the scenic National Parks I’ve been to, but if you’re in the area or a history buff, it is definitely worth a visit.

There is a massive parking ramp just inside the entrance to the memorial. After I parked I walked down the Avenue of Flags. I took my time walking between the pedestals and flags above me and photographed the mountain in front of me. I proceeded to the Grand View Terrace overlooking the amphitheater. I took more photos over there and then felt the need to escape from the crowds.

I decided to follow the short Presidential Trail. The interpretive trail was merely a half-mile in length, but it was pretty enjoyable. It passed several informative signs that highlighted different facts about the four presidents. The trail went through the Sculptor’s Studio, which was pretty interesting. There was a good view of Mount Rushmore through a window and a scale model of Abraham Lincoln’s head inside. There were displays about the tools and methods used to create the incredible work of art. I was pretty impressed. After that stop, the Presidential Trail took me beneath the famous mountain before I looped back to the Grand View Terrace.

I was probably there less than two hours, but I had a very good experience there and would highly recommend it. In fact, I was back there the following summer. I was on another western road trip, this time with my future wife. We were on our way to Glacier National Park and the Canadian Rockies and included a stop at Mount Rushmore. I didn’t really need to see it again since I had just been there the previous summer, but Ashley wanted to see it, so I happily added it to our itinerary.

Ashley let out the cutest high-pitched shriek when she caught her first glimpse of Mount Rushmore. We were still ascending the winding road toward the monument and she was not expecting to see it yet. Her excitement was infectious. We had a great time there before continuing northwest on our trip.

Western Adventure 2010 024

5 thoughts on “Mount Rushmore

Add yours

  1. We shared a similar feeling about Mount Rushmore. I think the fact that it’s man-made making it low on my eagerness to plan a trip there. But I’m sure one day we’ll make our way to visit it.

    Like

  2. I agree with you about preferring natural beauty, but for me, the fact that it’s manmade actually adds to the appeal – because it’s such impressive work! You should check out Crazy Horse the next time you’re there, as well.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑