A Recap of My Top 10 Long National Park Hikes

I completed my list of my Top 10 Long National Park Hikes a couple of weeks ago.  I really enjoyed making my list and continuing the countdown week after week.  I would like to thank everyone who followed along and especially those who provided any feedback along the way. I follow a lot of bloggers who travel all over the world. Many of them have visited a lot of National Parks like I have.  Some have been to even more parks than me.  I have really enjoyed interacting with like-minded individuals on the subject.  

Just like how there are amazing National Parks missing from my list of My Top 10 National Parks you’ll notice there are plenty of great hikes that aren’t on this list.  The main reason is that I still have a lot of National Parks to visit.  So far I have made it to twenty National Parks in the U.S. and three in Canada. I have returned to several of my favorites. Here is a list of the parks I’ve been to so far:

The National Parks I have visited so far (starting with the first I visited):

1. Yellowstone

2. Grand Teton

3. Rocky Mountain

4. Shenandoah

5. Zion

6. Grand Canyon

7. Death Valley

8. Yosemite

9. Badlands

10. Acadia

11. Great Smoky Mountains

12. Crater Lake

13. Olympic

14. Glacier

15. Cuyahoga Valley

16. Arches

17. Canyonlands

18. Capitol Reef

19. Bryce Canyon

20. Petrified Forest

 

Some of the longer hikes at the top of my To-Do List would be Amphitheater Lake in Grand Teton; Upper Yosemite Fall, Panorama Trail, Cathedral Lakes, and Clouds Rest in Yosemite; Fairyland Loop in Bryce Canyon; and Iceberg Lake, Swiftcurrent Pass, and Cracker Lake in Glacier.  There are many more, too, but that’s a good start for hikes on my National Park Wish List.  Who knows, maybe that will be one of my future blog posts.

Just like my previous list of my Top 10 Short National Park Hikes (6 miles or less), this was a tough, but fun list to make.  I left some great hikes off the list, but I’m pleased with the way it turned out.  I would say that the top 8 on my list are world class hikes that should be on every serious hikers To-Do List.

Here again is the list of My Top 10 Long National Park Hikes:

10. Mount LeConte – Great Smoky Mountains National Park

9.  Cape Alava – Olympic National Park

8.  Half Dome – Yosemite National Park

7.  Siyeh Pass – Glacier National Park

6.  Cascade Canyon – Grant Teton National Park

5.  Plateau Point – Grand Canyon National Park

4.  Highline Trail – Glacier National Park

3.  Mist Trail (to Nevada Fall) – Yosemite National Park

2.  The Figure 8 – Bryce Canyon National Park

1.  Grinnell Glacier – Glacier National Park

 

Thanks again for following along.  If you enjoy my blog please check out my book.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑