My Top 10 National Park Hikes (6 miles or less) #2

My Top 10 National Park Hikes (6 miles or less)

I enjoyed making blog posts about my top ten National Parks, so I decided to make a list of my top ten National Park Hikes. I quickly encountered a problem. There were too many hikes to choose from. So, I decided I can make two lists. I’m starting with my top 10 shorter hikes. Eventually, I’ll make a list of my favorite longer National Park hikes. I decided to make 6 miles the cutoff. So the list I am starting now will be of my favorite hikes of 6 miles or less. I love National Parks and I like making lists, so this is fun for me. I hope you enjoy, too. Let me know if you agree with me, want to add other hikes, or want to try some of these out.

My list so far…

10. Cleetwood Cove – Crater Lake National Park

9. Avalanche Peak – Yellowstone National Park

8. Shoshone Lake – Yellowstone National Park

7. Hall of Mosses – Olympic National Park

6.  Delicate Arch – Arches National Park

5.  Mariposa Grove – Yosemite National Park

4.  Mount Washburn – Yellowstone National Park

3.  Queen’s Garden with the Navajo Loop – Bryce Canyon National Park

2. Hidden Lake

Location: Logan Pass in Glacier National Park, Northwest Montana.

Distance: 6 miles roundtrip.

Elevation change: 1,135 feet.

Difficulty: On my totally subjective scale from a 1-10 (10 being the hardest) I would give it a 6.

Brief Description: This is one awesome hike. It begins at the Logan Pass Visitor Center. Even though the elevation is under 7,000 feet the entire trail is at or above treeline since it is at the Continental Divide. That equates to some amazing scenery. You can cut the hike in half by turning around at Hidden Lake Overlook. Most people do that. I recommend you carry on. The crowds will drastically thin out right after the overlook. If you descend (somewhat steeply) to the lake you will be graciously rewarded.

Western Adventure 2010 357

Highlight of the hike: There are so many. The view from the overlook is phenomenal and so is the close-up view at the lakeshore. I have seen several rams and mountain goats along the trail. There are great views pretty much the whole way, too.

Western Adventure 2010 396

Tips: You can cut the hike in half by turning around at Hidden Lake Overlook. Most people do that. I recommend you carry on. The crowds will drastically thin out right after the overlook. If you descend (somewhat steeply) to the lake you will be graciously rewarded. I shared the trail beside the lake with mountain goats and saw a beautiful mountain landscape reflected in the lake.

Western Adventure 2010 370

For more details on the hike and my personal experience CLICK HERE to read my blog post about it.

13 thoughts on “My Top 10 National Park Hikes (6 miles or less) #2

Add yours

  1. Oh yes. I agree with you that Hidden Lake in Glacier NP is a bit above your #3 Queen’s Garden and Navajo Loop in Bryce Canyon, for me mostly because of the likelihood of meetings no face to face with those fascinating mountain goats.

    Like

  2. Love this hike! Beautiful photos–makes me wish I could hike this again. The second half of the trail was closed because of bears when we went, but I’d love to get down to the lake like you did next time.

    Like

  3. I’ve never actually gotten to hike down to the lake – trail has always been closed due to snow/ice or bears. One day I will, though, because your photos of the lake from down below make it look so different!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑